The Scorpion and Me

One thing I will NOT miss about living in Mexico is finding scorpions in the house!  I can deal with the ants, the centipedes, june bugs, and  even sometimes the flying termites… but scorpions scare me!   Thankfully I have only found 5 in the last 2 years.

Last night I went upstairs with the laundry basket and started folding and packing the clothes we are bringing to Canada.  It came down to the very last item in the basket, a pair of Maria Jose’s boy shorts.  That’s when I noticed him.  I took a closer look and it was curled up and looking very dry.  I picked up the shorts and shook them, he wasn’t coming off.  I knew it was dead but I didn’t want to touch it because they creep me out so I just put it back in the basket and continued packing.  I spent the next 20 minutes looking over my shoulder just to make sure hew as still there.  He of course didn’t move but it was giving me the heebie jeebies that this dead scorpion was next to me.  After turning around to check about 5 times I decided enough was enough and I put the basket on the floor so it was further away from me.

About 20 minutes later after everything was folded and put away I walked by the basket and noticed he had moved! OH.MY.GOSH! I can’t believe I sat on my bed for 20 minutes with a live scorpion next to me who I thought was dead!

I grabbed a piece of cardboard and pinned him to the basket and ran downstairs and had Maria Jose grab me the scorpion spray and that was the end of that.

Apparently scorpions play dead.  I did not know that.

IMG_3098

3 thoughts on “The Scorpion and Me

  1. Ewwwwww so glad now that we live in the city of nonscorpions…. LOL. Makes me aporeciate all the summer rain a bit more- i bet those grosss things would drown here.

Leave a Reply

