6 Days Later…

It’s been 6 days since receiving Ricardo’s shiny visitor visa in the mail and we are still having a hard time believing it’s real.  I must admit I’ve gone to look at his passport several times to make sure I wasn’t dreaming.  When his passport wasn’t in reach, I grabbed my IPhone and opened up my blog to see the photo of it.  We are still in shock!

Although it hasn’t fully sank in yet, I’ve done a lot of day dreaming of all the things I want to do when we are home and all the things I’m excited for.

The top thing on Ricardo’s list is visiting and meeting my family.  He’s really looking forward to that.  So far he has met my Mom, Dad and sister Kelly as they have been able to travel to Mexico to visit in the past.  I’m really excited to see my nieces and nephews and how much they’ve grown!

I can’t wait to show Ricardo some of the simple things.  He has never seen me drive before, for all he knows I could be a terrible driver!  He even asked if it would be safe enough for him to have a nap in the car with him! I’m so excited for him to experience SMOOTH roads and for him to breathe the sweet sweet air of BC. (I must admit, I am really excited for both of these things too.  I miss the feeling of driving without coming out of my chair, and the air quality at home.)

We are going to be spending a lot of time on Vancouver Island, getting to know his new soon-to-be city and the people we will spend the most time with when we move.  I’m also excited to take him camping as that’s always been a huge part of my life and he’s never been before.

In addition to all the fun things planned on the island, we have a short trip planned to Vancouver.  His eyes lit up when I told him we were going to drive a car on the ferry boat and be taken across to the mainland… Something that most people hate doing, but that made Ricardo say “Can you pinch me! Am in my dreams?” It is going to be SOOO cool to see him in Canada.

Do you remember traveling to another country?  

What was it about that country that made your eyes light up and your mouth drop?

8 thoughts on “6 Days Later…

  1. I am sooooo excited for both of you, it’ll be an incredible experience for him for sure. To experience another country & culture seems to put things in perspective somehow. I’ve personally only been to Mexico, and so far only 1 week at a time, but it has forever changed my perspective on the world. The Mexican people & their culture have taught me a gratitude & appreciation for life like I had never seen in Canada (although Saskatchewan comes closest), there’s also a passion to spanish culture that they seem to apply to everything they do that is so inspiring. For us our first trip, to Puerto Vallarta, what struck us about it was the beautiful tropical scenery, the ocean against the mountains (similar to here, but so different at the same time), the wonderful hot & humid weather that just takes every ache from your body and seems to warm your soul. The beautiful bold & bright colours used everywhere, Canadians seem to shy away from colourful expression, but not mexicans they celebrate them, and combine them in beautiful ways that people here don’t tend to be bold enough to try. The food, mmmmmm, I’ve never tasted better food than in mexico, unfortunately never good for my waistline with staying at all inclusives, lol. The warm ocean was amazing to me the first time. I hate ocean swimming here in BC because it’s sooooo cold, but there it’s like bath water only salty. Our trip more recently the Malecon was what struck me most, such a beautiful place. Our first trip to Playa del Carmen it was the beach, and the turquiose ocean waters, what a sight, and sand so soft on the feet. The ruins of Coba and Tulum have both captured my heart as well. Tulum is amzing to see the ancient ruins against the Caribbean such an incredible sight. The cool waters & stalagmites in the under ground cenotes were amazing as well, so different from the pacific but the people are amazing on both coasts. What can I say we’re in love with the country & it’s people. 🙂

  2. Congratulations to you! I know its been a long road traveled and now you will get to sit back and enjoy all your hard work! I’m sure Ricardo will love Canada! Plus, you get to show him that you do in fact know how to drive. 😉

  3. Dena is so bang on with her Mexican experiences! My darling daughter… I think you are really going to miss the simplicities of Mexico. I too loved the colors, the people and the music that played everywhere… even on the buses when the locals popped on to entertain us for a mile to make a couple of pesos. I think we feel sorry for the Mexican people but I think on the most part they are so Happy, Unspoiled, Loving, Giving and most of all Proud! Ricardo is ALL of those things and that’s what I love about him… I can only hope that Canada does not sadden him… I hope you two ALWAYS sing like you do now, even if your neighbors will hear you!

Leave a Reply

