Rainstorms in Puerto Vallarta

One of my favorite things about living in Mexico is the amazing thunderstorms we get during the rainy season (June-September is the best) This wasn’t always the case though, if you’ve been following my blog for a while you’ll remember my first big storm in Mexico: **Tropical Storm Season**

Last week we spent Ricardo’s day off in Puerto Vallarta. We went for a super nice dinner along the Malecon and afterwards sat in a coffee shop watching the people brave the first huge downpour of the season. Within minutes the streets were flooded with garbage floating down stream, almost like a river. We watched people running through the streets in their barefeet, while others danced in their bathing suits, or took shelter under our cafe awning.

I’m a BC girl… I was raised on Vancouver Island and anyone who knows BC knows that we get A LOT of rain. I absolutely could not think of a better way to spend an afternoon than listening to the rain. The heat of Mexico has not made me this way, I have always loved a rainy day.

Mexico is different though. The rainy season is HOT and HUMID, filled with mosquitos flying around waiting for the next gringo to bite. When it rains here, it REALLY rains. I love every single second of it.

Here is a few videos I took from my phone after about an hour of rain.   The quality is not the best but you’ll get an idea.

 

This one is just to show some of the waves in the streets:

 

 

Check out the car that’s turning left at :10, it looks like it’s diving into the ocean!

 

When you don’t have a row boat and a couple of paddles, you walk!

 

9 thoughts on “Rainstorms in Puerto Vallarta

  1. Lol, I guess waterproof shoes are an important investment, eh? You’re right though being from Vancouver Island you have to love rain. Although at least in Mexico though there’s more sunshine then here for most of the year, and it’s much warmer year round than the island.

    • lmao, you need like a waterproof outfit, nevermind the shoes. Most people just take their shoes off and walk through it. It’s hard to keep sandals off when you are trekking through deep water lol!!

  2. Wow… That is a little much for my liking! I like a shower… I don’t put the tub plug in to bathe at the same time I’m showering 🙂 Don’t think I’ll be visiting between June and September anytime soon 🙂

  3. Ahhh I keep trying to leave messages on the wordpress blogs!! Driving me crazy! Hahaha. Wont’ let me as years ago I set up a wordpress account, and can’t delete it. I never used it once…I’ve changed my email address with it, but nope – still wants to log me in with it 😦

    Okay, venting done…LOL.

    The rain in Cancun is just like that – crazy. Also, sooo humid and heavy.At times a raft would do you good!! Hahaha. Ah well, I like it sometimes as we get a break from the heat for like two minutes, but as soon as it’s over more humid than ever!! Hahaha!!!

    http://www.on-mexican-time.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

