Getting to Class #1….

About 4 weeks ago after I made the decision to commit to learning Spanish (See blog here), I decided my first step would be to find a language school that provided a structured learning plan.   I found my “answer” when I came across the perfect school in Puerto Vallarta late one Sunday evening.  I emailed the teacher to find out more details and to my surprise I got an email back almost immediately!

How’s that for having no time to make up excuses of why I shouldn’t go?

After a few messages back and forth, we determined it would be best for me to start out at level one so I wouldn’t miss any of the important basics.

The catch?  The class was starting less than 12 hours later.

Fast forward a few hours and after a very long, hard day at work Ricardo returned at 1am.  After racing through the usual questions to see how his day had been, I quickly blurted out my learning plan and was eager to hear what he thought.  Much to my surprise, he was not on board with my decision.  We found ourselves in an argument that determined it was too short of notice, and we needed a better plan.

The solution?  Another class was starting 3 weeks later! Perfect!

The weeks flew by and I tried to warm Ricardo up to the idea every now and then.  He clearly was still not on board, even after we had a tour of the classroom and met the teacher.  It was a Sunday again, the day before the class was about to begin.   I kindly told him I was not prepared to do something we were not both in favor for and if he was not going to be a part of this with me, I would rather not go.  He left for work, and I left him with the decision of withdrawing money from our account if he wanted to commit to support this 3 week adventure.

I must admit, I couldn’t help but think if I was meant to do the course and put the effort in to learn Spanish it should be easier.  The doors would open when they were supposed to, and I’d be able to walk through them without any doubts.

The phone rang at 3:00pm just as Ricardo was supposed to start work.  He informed me the ATM machine was down and he’d have to try another one.  After attempting to take out the equivalent to 300 dollars out of the next ATM machine, it gave him no money, along with no receipt.  Thinking the machine didn’t have enough money, he tried 200 dollars.  It worked, he took his 200 dollars and was on his way back to work and would find yet another machine with more money later.  (Go figure, when he decided he wanted to support my new mission; he too, ran into problems.)

After struggling to remember our password for online banking, getting locked out of the online account 2 times, and submitting a request to technical support about our account… I was finally able to see our recent transaction history…. 500 dollars deducted from our account.  I thought that was strange as Ricardo normally would have called to let me know everything was taken care of…   I called him to confirm, but his phone was out of service.

A few hours later I learned he wasn’t able to try a 3rd machine and the 300 dollars deducted from our account was not in his possession nor did he have a receipt proving anything.  Lovely.  Things just couldn’t go smoothly the *night before school* not the first time, and not the second time.
I contemplated for a few hours as to all the reasons why I should not attend school the following day.  I would need to go to the bank branch and speak with them and who knows what would occur after that.  It was 2:45am anyways and I would have to be up at 7:30am and my mind was far from slowing down.

In that moment, late at night, when the rest of my future classmates were probably sleeping I was determined to get to that class if my life depended on it.  The missing 300 dollars could wait, the hesitation with Ricardo could be dealt with later… This was something I was doing for me… For our future, and for a better relationship with Ricardo’s family.

And so it was, 4 hours later my alarm went off and I headed to my first day of class.  I must admit, I was very nervous going to class.  I was nervous for more reasons than one but mostly because I didn’t know what I would encounter on the way there.  What might happen to try to deter me from making it there on time?  Luckily I made it, and I’m very thankful that I made it in one piece.

So far I’ve had two classes.   After the first class, I already felt 100% more confident with my Spanish.   Between classes I did 3 hours of homework.  I practiced on the bus, at home with Ricardo, at Ricardo’s parent’s house… anywhere I possibly could get a few extra minutes in.  After Ricardo and I finished eating dinner at a fancy restaurant last night I asked him if we could practice, he sweetly told me that would be embarrassing and I should hold my horses until we got home. LOL.

Most of all I am happy that Ricardo is on board with this now.  He helps me practice, and lets me do the talking when we are out.  He loves to see that I’m actually trying to speak Spanish now vs. before when I was too nervous to open my mouth when we were out.  As we climbed into bed last night I knew I made the right decision when he turned to me and said I hope you go to school all the time, because I love when you go to bed early.  lol

If any of my blogger friends are struggling to learn Spanish I really recommend doing a class if you are able.  My only regret is that I didn’t do this sooner!

Have you taken a language course before?  What was your experience?

12 thoughts on “Getting to Class #1….

  1. I so love this story I love that u would not do it if ricardo wasn’t on board!!!! Means that you are truely a loving couple. Good luck in with your course and school is always fun and u tend to do better when u want to be there not have to be there like when ur a kid. Hope u get ur money back too 🙂 love ya ❤

    • Awe sister! You are too sweet 🙂 You are so right, when you WANT to be at school, it goes much better! Definitely experiencing that with taking these classes 🙂

      Thanks for the support ❤ can't wait to see you! XOXO

  2. I actually have a blog! But It’s been hard for me to stick to, so I haven’t shared it with anyone. When I’m ready, I’ll forward the address for it! lol My stories are not half as interesting, I absolutely love your blog. 🙂

    • Naaaaaadine!!! Whenever you are ready, I would LOVE to read your blog! I’m sure your stories are very interesting, I think we always think our own stories aren’t very interesting 🙂

      You have a hubby and 2 sweet girls, that’s super interesting! lol and besides, you are camping this summer!!! 😀 my favorite thing to do!

  3. Love it! So happy for you! Maybe I should look into some classes…i feel like I’ve plateaued. You’ll have to give me the info..though I don’t know if i could afford it. Thanks for sharing!!

  4. Happened across your blog through Mexi-Can Me. I have started and stopped Spanish classes 4 times in the past 2 and a half years, bought Rosetta Stone, Rocket Spanish, Spanish Shortcuts etc etc. And still, don’t speak Spanish. I assumed it’d be easier if I was immersed…instead of trying to learn in Toronto for my trips to Cuba. Seems like it’s still hard even when you’re living in it!
    Did you ever find the $300?

    • Thanks for stopping by 🙂 It’s definitely super hard and you certainly need to have a lot of patience and time to work at it! I’ve really found that the structure of this new class that I’m taking is sooooo fantastic. It’s repetitive and focuses on power verbs to begin with, you really do leave the first class already making sentences and being able to communicate basic needs. My Spanish has improved so much in only 3 weeks. I highly recommend it. I don’t think it would be available to take in Cuba but you can buy the course materials or do classes over the net.

      The 300 dollars I haven’t gotten back yet, it’s still being investigated… Annoying thing is, I tried to take out another 300 yesterday from my Canadian Scotiabank account at an ATM machine here and it did the same exact thing!!! Didn’t give me money but deducted it from my account so I now have TWO investigations open. so frustrating! I’ve added your blog to my reader and looking forward to reading through it!

  5. I’m glad you feel confident to practice with him. I find that I don’t mind practicing with strangers but then get self-conscious when I’m around people I know well.

Leave a Reply

