Fruits and Veggies Trip

Living in Mexico I’ve really learned how amazing fruits and vegetables are when they are FRESH and not driven across a country or two before they go in my mouth.  I don’t even want to think about everything that’s used to keep them “Fresh” looking.

One of the best parts of living in Las Palmas is that vegetables are SO cheap compared to the grocery stores at home in Canada.  Today we went shopping and bought: 17 eggs, 1 bag of green grapes, 1 pineapple, 1 cauliflower, 1 brocoli, 1 onion, 6 bananas, 4 red apples, 3 green apples, 2 pears, 3 kiwis, and 1 pineapple.  We spent the equivalent of $11.65 Canadian in pesos!  Normally our veggie and fruit bill is about 40-50 pesos but we splurged on pineapple and grapes this time!

Now I realize not ALL things in the picture below are grown here in our town but they were still on my must-haves list today. 

I’m really curious to know… How much (approximately) would these items be in your local grocery store, farm market etc… and where are you located?

7 thoughts on “Fruits and Veggies Trip

  1. On a good day, Shelly – when things are on special etc., that many items would come to around $25.00. at Save On. Some of the local markets (Discover – Willow Point Market) – you could add $ 3 – 4 more.

  2. I cannot believe I just found your blog!! I have been lost, I guess. Well, in Monterrey, it would have been around 250 (20USD) pesos, but here in the rancho, it would be around 160 (13USD) pesos.

    • LOL It’s probably because I’ve been silently reading your blog for months but rarely ever am on the computer to actually go to your blog and comment! I am trying to do that more!!! I have everyone’s blogs in my google reader that I look at on my Iphone lol. 😀 at least it’s cheaper now in the rancho 🙂

  3. In the Superama in D.F., that much fruit and veggies would cost between 200-250 pesos! That’s why I shop at the market now. 🙂 I usually buy around 100-120 pesos worth of fruit and veggies.

    I forgot how cheap everything is outside of D.F. This city is way too expensive. 😛

Leave a Reply

