Spanish Update

As explained in a previous blog I discovered I really needed to start practicing my Spanish skills.

Thanks to everyone who shared their encouraging stories about learning a new language and what worked best for you.  Over the last few weeks I’ve come to the realization that I need to get out of the house.  What better way to “get out of the house” then to go back to school???

I found a great little school in Puerto Vallarta to learn Spanish and I start THIS Monday! July.9th!  I couldn’t be more excited, and scared – all at the same time!  I haven’t taken any type of class in 7 years so I feel a bit out of the loop.  I met with the teacher yesterday and he explained the course is intensive, and will require 3-4 hours of homework between each class. YIKES! I don’t ever remember doing that much homework in high school!  I’ve definitely never willingly signed up and paid for a class that required that much homework, so this will be a first LOL.

The course is 3 hours per day, 3 days per week so will give me just the right amount of time for studying and working and hopefully I can visit Ricardo in between. 🙂

Until Next Time…

11 thoughts on “Spanish Update

  1. That is sooooo awesome Shelly, good for you. I wish I could be in your class with you, lol. I’m sure you’ll pick it up in no time at all. 🙂

    • Hey Lauren!

      I really hope everything goes good with these classes, I’m super excited to start!

      The classes are only in 3 week parts. I believe there are 4 different lessons (1 lesson = 3 weeks) and then maybe 2 conversational levels.
      It’s based on the Warren Hardy method of Spanish learning ( http://warrenhardy.com/) The books are stuff are quite expensive (you need to buy books for each level, books for level one are 1200 pesos…) The class though is 2500 pesos for the 3 weeks. So 92 pesos per hour – not too bad.
      Each class is 3 hours long and 3 classes per week. It just works great with my schedule, I’d rather have a more intensive class that I don’t have to go into town everyday for 1 hour of lessons (we live 75 minutes away from the school so it’s quite the trip)

      I hope you can find something in Cancun! I will search too for you!

  2. How fun, at least this is an option for you. I would love to be able to do something like this. Maybe you will even meet some new people and make some friends. Suerte Amiga.

    • Muchas Gracias =D It really was a lot of fun today, I can’t wait until my next class! Is there nothing close to where you live for Spanish lessons?

Leave a Reply

