We Have Kittens!

I was worried as I hadn’t seen Azuela in a day and a half and she is normally always at our doorstep meowing every morning for her food.  Ricardo went down to feed her and noticed there were 4 surprises laying next to the toilet – AZUELA HAD KITTENS!  (I don’t know exactly why there is a bathroom right outside our backdoor, but it’s not ‘in use’ and does not have a door, and this is where she had them.)

I immediately went to get a plastic drawer from one of our storage units for them to sleep in… It didn’t last more than 5 minutes as Azuela wanted them on the dirty ground behind the toilet.  I keep forgetting I am in Mexico, cat’s don’t require luxury either.

Babies learning to walk, these pictures were taken at 2 weeks old.  I brought them in the house to take the pics.

Once they learned how to walk I put a board up in the bathroom door.  Just high enough so they couldn’t get out, and low enough for Azuela to be able to come and go… Of course, this did not last for more than 2 days before Azuela lifted them all passed the board… They now lay in a pile of cement bricks.  The pictures below were all taken today, they will be one month old tomorrow.

The little kitten on the left always tries to hiss at me, but it only comes out as a little whisper – so cute!

I love their pretty blue eyes…

Thankfully, Azuela is still feeding the babies.  It is going to be a lot of mouths to feed when she stops.

Azuela had 2 baby boys that I have found homes for, and just the 2 little girls need a home.  If you are interested, or you know someone who is – please message me ! 🙂

3 thoughts on “We Have Kittens!

  1. They’re absolutely adorable! When I lived in Vallarta with my sister, we had 23 cats and 9 dogs. They were all rescued from the street and spayed/neutered. I don’t know how you feel about the idea, but there are free spay/neuter clinics that you could take them all too before they go their new homes.

    • Jacqueline! Hi! Funny you should mention the free clinics, I’m taking the mom there next week. I don’t have the heart to not feed a cat that comes to my door, so I’m at least going to stop the group from becoming bigger. =)

Leave a Reply

