~*~6 Month Reflections~*~

Living in Surrey was an amazing experience. It was just what I needed, and at the time I needed it most. I was blessed to find the perfect little suite in an amazing neighbourhood, with generous landlords. I grew accustomed to what I now look back on and call “the rich life.” My suite was small, but it had everything I’d ever dreamed of. A huge bathtub, a beautiful gas fireplace, a small and cozy living area, and my favorite of all: a swimming pool and hot tub.

When I decided to move to Mexico, I naturally had a hard time letting go of my suite. I knew that once I told my landlords I was leaving, the rest was history and there was no turning back. For the month and a half leading up to my moving day, I was just going through the motions of tying up loose ends and getting everything packed. I didn’t have much time to enjoy the things about my suite that I loved. And I didn’t have much time to really let everything around me sink in, nor would I have understood it at the time.

The night I made my decision to move, I received an email from my previous Pastor’s wife. She apologized for the delay in her annual Christmas email, and gave everyone an update on how life has been. She ended the email with something simple, yet so profound. “We hope that you live each day this year living your life to the full, and being fully present in each moment that comes your way.” I decided in that moment, I was going to spend 2011, “Learning to Live with LESS, and Learning to LOVE more.”

When I reflect on the first 6 months of 2011 I can certainly say that both learning to live with less and learning to love more have often presented their challenges. Some challenges I learned quickly, and others I have yet to overcome. But reflecting back and realizing I am on track with what I had set out to do this year, feels great.

Over the next few blogs, I want to share with you the world I left behind and the one I find myself in now. I’ll take you through a tour of my house and what it’s like living a much simpler life.

Until next time, I hope you are on track with how you invisioned this year to go. If you’re not, it’s never too late!

4 thoughts on “~*~6 Month Reflections~*~

  1. YAY Shell, we all should be so lucky to learn what you have. IF everyone learned to love more and hurt others less, we would never have wars, a high divorce rate, etc. Let’s hope people and pray for people to see the path that you have taken and follow along.

  2. And… you are also blessed with good people in your life, such as your friend Aaron 🙂
    My thoughts are always with you my little egg! LaLu

Leave a Reply

